Ask the seller of a used electric scooter about the battery and you will usually hear a number of years. Eight, sometimes five, sometimes three. That number is rarely wrong, but it answers a different question from the one a buyer needs answered. The buyer's question has two parts. Does the cover pass to a second owner at all? And if it does, how much of it is left once you count from the day the scooter was first sold? The first part is settled by the maker's published terms. The second is settled by the registration record. This article reads both.
Why This Question Matters More Now
Electric scooters bought in the first big years of the segment are now reaching the age at which Indian households usually change a two-wheeler. We covered that supply in our report on the first wave of used electric scooters, which also explained why battery condition has no field in the registration record.
The price gap between new and used has also moved. The central purchase incentive for electric two-wheelers has been tapering. It was halved from April 2025 to Rs. 2,500 per kWh with a cap of Rs. 5,000 per vehicle. The window was due to close on 31 July 2026, after one extension from 31 March 2026. Press reports dated 12 August 2026 say the Ministry of Heavy Industries has since notified a further extension to 31 March 2028 at the same capped rate, subject to funds. Either way, the incentive on a new scooter is now a small sum. It does little to narrow the distance between a new scooter and a three-year-old one.
That puts more weight on the one item that can cost a large share of the scooter's value to replace. A used scooter with transferable battery cover and several years left is a different purchase from an identical scooter with none. The asking price often does not show which one you are looking at.
Two Kinds of Battery Warranty
Every maker in this comparison publishes more than one level of battery cover. Reading a listing correctly starts with knowing which level the scooter actually has.
The standard warranty
This comes with the scooter at no extra charge. Published standard terms in this comparison are commonly three years, with a kilometre limit. It mainly covers manufacturing defects. Some standard terms also set a capacity floor and some do not.
The extended or top-up plan
This is a paid plan, or a plan bundled with a paid software or feature pack. It takes cover to five, eight or ten years. It usually had to be bought within a fixed window after the first sale, so a second owner generally cannot add it later. If the first owner did not buy it, the long number in the brochure does not apply to that scooter. The proof is a policy or warranty certificate issued against that vehicle, not the advertisement.
A plain definition of the 70 percent threshold. A battery slowly holds less energy as it ages. Battery health, also called State of Health, is the share of original capacity it still holds. Several published plans allow a capacity claim when health falls below 70 percent during the warranty period. The maker measures this with its own test procedure, so a reading on the dashboard or an app is a guide, not the deciding figure.
Brand by Brand: Published Battery Warranty Terms
The table sets out what each maker publishes on its own website or in its own warranty document. It is a comparison of published terms only. It is not a ranking, and it says nothing about how any battery performs on the road.
Warranty terms as published by each manufacturer on 28 September 2026; terms can change, confirm with the service centre.
| Maker | Published Battery Warranty | Battery-Health Threshold | Transfer to Next Owner | Condition to Note |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ola Electric (S1 range) | Warranty terms page: 96 months or 80,000 km from delivery. Support page: base cover of 3 years or 50,000 km on the battery for scooters delivered or booked from 14 November 2024. Paid top-up plans: 8 years or 1 Lakh km, and 8 years or 1.25 Lakh km. | Below 70 percent, stated in the paid top-up plans | Stated as transferable to the subsequent owner for the remaining period, for both base and top-up plans | Terms differ by delivery date, and the 1.25 Lakh km plan is limited to listed models. Read the warranty certificate issued for that scooter. |
| Ather | Standard: 3 years or 30,000 km. With the maker's Pro pack: 5 years or 60,000 km. Paid add-ons: 8 years or 80,000 km, and 10 years or 1 Lakh km. | Capacity not to degrade beyond 30 percent of published nominal capacity; the 8-year plan is described with 70 percent state of health | Warranty policy counts the period from the sale invoice “regardless of any change of Vehicle ownership” | Add-ons are sold with the Pro pack within 90 days of invoicing. Ask the service centre to confirm in writing which plan is active on the scooter. |
| TVS iQube | Standard: 3 years or 50,000 km (3 years or 30,000 km on the 2.3 kWh variant). Extended: a further 2 years and 20,000 km, giving 5 years or 70,000 km (5 years or 50,000 km on the 2.3 kWh variant). | Not stated on the published FAQ page | Extended warranty: stated as transferable on resale. Standard warranty: not clearly stated in published terms — ask the service centre in writing. | The dealer shares the extended warranty policy and a copy of the RC in the new customer's name. |
| Bajaj Chetak | Standard: 3 years or 50,000 km, from the sales invoice date. Extended plans add 1 year or 10,000 km, or 2 years or 20,000 km. | Not stated on the published FAQ page | Not clearly stated in published terms — ask the service centre in writing | Warranty stays in effect while periodic services are done at authorised service centres as per schedule. |
| Hero Vida | Standard: 3 years from delivery. Extended battery plan: 2 further years, with a 60,000 km limit. | State of Health below 70 percent, under the extended plan | Extended battery plan: stated as fully transferable. Standard warranty: not clearly stated in published terms — ask the service centre in writing. | Visit an authorised service centre with the policy document to transfer the plan to the new owner. |
“Not clearly stated” means exactly that. It does not mean the maker declines to transfer. It means the page we read did not address the point, and a written answer from the authorised service centre is the way to close the gap.
What the table cannot tell you: which of these plans is active on the scooter in front of you. That is a fact about one vehicle, and it sits in the warranty certificate or policy document and in the maker's service records. Ask the seller for the document. Then ask the service centre to confirm it against the chassis number.
The Clock Started Before You Arrived
Every published term in the table counts from the first sale. Ola Electric counts from the date of delivery. Ather and Bajaj Chetak count from the sale invoice. Hero Vida counts from delivery. None of them restarts for a second owner, which is the same principle we set out for electric cars in our piece on what a second owner gets from an EV battery warranty.
So the working sum is simple. Take the warranty period. Subtract the time since first sale. Then check the odometer against the kilometre limit, because whichever limit is reached first ends the cover. A scooter sold in October 2023 on a three-year standard term has about one month left in late September 2026. The same scooter with a five-year plan has about two years left. The seller may describe both as “under warranty”.
Sellers usually quote the model year. The warranty counts from a specific day. A scooter can also sit in stock for months between manufacture and first sale, so the year in the advertisement is a loose guide. The date of first registration in the record is the closest independent check a buyer has. High-use scooters, including those used for deliveries, can reach the kilometre limit well before the years run out, which is why the reading on the dash deserves the care we described in a used bike's clock against its VAHAN age.
The Record Checks That Tie the Warranty to the Scooter
An electric scooter above the low-speed limit is a registered motor vehicle. Its record holds the same fields as any other two-wheeler. Six of them bear directly on the battery warranty.
- Date of first registration. This fixes the age of the scooter and is the nearest independent check on when the warranty clock began. Compare it with the invoice date the seller shows you.
- Owner serial number. The record shows whether the seller is the first, second or third owner. A seller who says “single owner” while the record shows two has already told you something. Each change of hands is also a point at which an extended plan may or may not have been moved across.
- Ownership actually transferred on the RC. Many used two-wheelers change hands on a delivery note while the RC stays in an earlier owner's name. The transfer route TVS publishes for its extended warranty, for example, asks for a copy of the RC in the new customer's name, and a service centre will normally want the same proof. If the person selling is not the person on the record, the warranty transfer has a missing link. Our report on why the RC transfer must be completed on a used bike covers the liability side of the same gap.
- Hypothecation. In plain words, this is a note on the RC that a bank or finance company lent money against the vehicle and still has a claim on it. While that note stays, the RTO will not move ownership to you. No RC transfer means no RC in your name, and that can hold up the warranty transfer too. We explained how to read the entry in checking a used bike's RC for a live loan.
- Insurance validity. Third-party insurance is compulsory for a registered scooter. A lapsed policy means a cost on day one. It also matters to the battery, because published warranty terms exclude accident, flood and fire damage. Those risks sit with the insurer, not with the warranty.
- Pending challans. Unpaid challans stay with the registration number and can delay the transfer of ownership. Check them before you pay, not at the RTO counter.
On Vahan Verify the RC check costs Rs. 99, the challan check costs Rs. 99, and the full report with both costs Rs. 149. For a scooter where the battery cover depends on a clean transfer, the full report is the sensible version, because it shows the registration position and the challan position together.
Low-speed scooters have no record at all
A battery two-wheeler that is genuinely within the low-speed exemption is not registered. There is no RC and no VAHAN record. Age, owner count and loan status cannot be checked from a record, and the purchase invoice and the maker's warranty document are the only papers that tie the warranty to the vehicle. Many scooters sold as “no RC needed” do not actually qualify, as we explained in the 250 W rule for e-scooters without a number plate.
Two things the record will not show
The record has no field for battery health and no field for a battery subscription or rental contract. If the battery is on a subscription, the terms are in a private contract, which is the issue we set out in buying a battery-subscription EV used. Ask the seller directly and get the answer in writing.
On subsidy-linked resale conditions: we did not find a resale restriction for private buyers in the central scheme material we reviewed, so we are not stating one. State incentives have their own rules and differ from state to state. If the first owner received a state incentive, ask the RTO or the state transport department whether any condition applies before you pay.
What to Ask For, in Writing
- The original sale invoice. It carries the date from which most published terms count.
- The warranty certificate or extended plan policy. It names the plan, the period and the kilometre limit for that scooter.
- Service history from authorised service centres. Published terms link cover to scheduled servicing and to the use of the maker's charger.
- A battery health reading from the authorised service centre. The maker's own measurement is the one that counts in a claim.
- Written confirmation of the transfer procedure. Ask what documents the service centre needs, and whether any fee applies.
- The seller's identity matched to the RC. The name on the record should be the person signing the transfer forms.
What This Means for Used E-Scooter Buyers
First, the answer to “does the warranty transfer” is more often yes than buyers expect. Several makers say so in published terms. The real variation is in which plan the first owner bought and how much time and distance remain.
Second, price the scooter on the balance, not on the headline. A ten-year figure in an advertisement describes a plan that may or may not have been purchased for this vehicle. Three years of standard cover, mostly used up, is a very different asset.
Third, complete the paperwork in the right order. Clear any loan entry. Transfer the RC. Then take the RC in your name and the policy document to the authorised service centre. A warranty transfer that is promised but never recorded is hard to rely on when a claim arises two years later.
Fourth, run the record check before the token money, not after. It costs Rs. 99 and takes a registration number. It tells you the registration date, the owner count and whether a lender still has a claim, which are the three facts on which the rest of this article depends.
The bottom line: the maker's published terms tell you whether battery cover can pass to a second owner. The registration record tells you when the clock started, how many owners came before you and whether the RC can move to your name. You need both answers, and you need them before you pay.
Check the Dates Before You Count the Warranty
RC check Rs. 99. Challan check Rs. 99. Full report with both, Rs. 149. Works on any registered vehicle, electric scooters included.
Frequently Asked Questions
It depends on the maker and on which warranty is in force. In terms published on 28 September 2026, Ola Electric states that its battery warranty and its paid top-up plans are transferable to the subsequent owner for the remaining period. Ather's warranty policy counts the warranty period from the sale invoice regardless of any change of vehicle ownership. TVS and Hero Vida both publish a transfer route for their extended battery plans. Where the published terms are silent, ask the authorised service centre to confirm the position in writing before you pay.
From the first sale, not from your purchase. Ola Electric counts from the date of delivery, Ather and Bajaj Chetak from the date of the sale invoice, and Hero Vida from delivery. The clock never restarts for a second owner. The date of first registration on the RC record is the closest independent check on that date, and the odometer counts against the kilometre limit at the same time.
It is the level below which a capacity claim can be made under plans that cover degradation. Ola Electric's paid top-up plans cover the battery if performance degrades below 70 percent, Ather's policy warrants that capacity will not degrade beyond 30 percent of the published nominal capacity, and Hero Vida's extended plan is triggered when State of Health is below 70 percent. The manufacturer measures the figure using its own test procedure, so a dashboard reading is not the deciding number.
Check the date of first registration, the owner serial number, the hypothecation entry, the insurance validity and the registration status on the RC record, and check pending challans separately. On Vahan Verify the RC check costs Rs. 99, the challan check costs Rs. 99 and the full report with both costs Rs. 149. A warranty transfer usually needs the RC in the new owner's name, so a live loan entry that blocks the RC transfer can also hold up the warranty transfer.
No. A battery two-wheeler that is genuinely within the low-speed exemption is not registered, so it has no RC and no VAHAN record. Age, owner count and loan status cannot be verified from a record, and the purchase invoice and the maker's warranty document are the only papers that tie the battery warranty to the vehicle. Most electric scooters sold in volume are registered vehicles and do have a record.